State benefits
Alabama veteran benefits, and the two doors to a total exemption
Alabama has two routes to a total ad valorem exemption. Code of Alabama section 40-9-20 exempts a veteran's home acquired under the federal specially adapted housing program, regardless of value. Section 40-9-21 exempts the principal residence and 160 adjacent acres of any person permanently and totally disabled, at any age, with no income test.
Alabama Department of Revenue
https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/property-tax/homestead-exemptions/
Published 2026-08-21. Alabama rules last checked against that state's own government sources on 2026-08-21. Every line below carries the page it came from and the date it was read.
What is different about Alabama
Alabama has one veteran-specific property tax exemption and it is narrow enough that most disabled veterans never reach it. Ala. Code 40-9-20 exempts from all ad valorem taxation, regardless of value, a home acquired by a veteran under the specially adapted housing grant, for as long as the veteran or an unremarried widow owns and occupies it. It is keyed to how the home was acquired rather than to a rating. Everyone else goes through the general route, and that is the unusual part: a veteran qualifies for a full exemption by landing in the permanent and total disability homestead class that counties administer as H-3, alongside a non-veteran on disability. The qualifying condition there is permanent and total disability rather than a 100 percent VA rating as such, an armed services disability pension automatically earns the certificate, and the land allowance runs to 160 acres, which is far larger than anything Colorado or Illinois grants.
Two doors, and the veteran one is not on the schedule everybody reads
Alabama's veteran property tax statute is section 40-9-20 of the Code of Alabama, headed Certain Homes Owned by Veterans or Their Widows. Its operative sentence is one line long. The home of any veteran acquired pursuant to Public Law 702 of the 80th Congress, regardless of its value, is exempt from all ad valorem taxation so long as it is owned and occupied as a home by that veteran or his unremarried widow. Public Law 702 is the specially adapted housing program, carried in current federal law at 38 U.S.C. 2101 and 2102. The section was enacted in 1957 and it is still in the 2025 Code.
Two features of it are unusual. There is no value ceiling, which the section states in terms rather than by omission: the words regardless of its value are in the statute. And there is no acreage limit in the section at all, where every other Alabama homestead provision caps at 160 acres.
Its gate is narrow, and that is the part to be exact about. The exemption attaches to the HOME rather than to the veteran, and the qualifying fact is how the home was acquired, not what the rating says. A veteran rated 100 percent whose house was bought on the open market is not inside section 40-9-20. A veteran whose house was acquired under the specially adapted housing grant is, at any value.
The second door is the one revenue.alabama.gov publishes, and it is wider. Section 40-9-21 exempts from ad valorem taxation the principal residence and 160 acres adjacent to it of any person who is permanently and totally disabled, or who is 65 or older with net annual taxable income of $12,000 or less. The income test attaches to the age branch. It does not attach to the permanent and total disability branch, which has no income condition of any kind. On the department's published schedule that is class H-3, recorded as exempt from all ad valorem taxes.
So a veteran who is permanently and totally disabled reaches a full exemption through a class that is not written about veterans, alongside a non veteran on disability, and the argument at the county office is about the disability determination rather than about a rating letter. Section 40-9-21 has a provision that shortens that argument considerably, and almost nothing published about Alabama mentions it: any person drawing a pension or annuity from the armed services, a company or a governmental agency because he or she is permanently and totally disabled shall automatically be granted a certificate of permanent and total disability by the department. The certificate is the thing the county wants, and the statute says a service pension for permanent and total disability produces it automatically.
Where that route does not apply, the section provides a second one. Since May 22, 2013, a permanently and totally disabled person who does not otherwise qualify and has not previously filed a physician certification may submit affidavits from two physicians licensed in Alabama, at least one of whom is actively providing treatment directly related to the disability.
What the Alabama package is worth, and the two sentences that save a filing
On either door the property benefit is the whole ad valorem bill, state and county, rather than a slice of it. Under section 40-9-20 there is no value ceiling and no acreage limit. Under section 40-9-21 there is no value ceiling either, and the area allowance runs to the principal residence and 160 acres adjacent to it. Colorado caps its benefit at $100,000 of actual value and Illinois at $250,000 of equalized assessed value. Alabama caps by area on one route and not at all on the other.
The other classes on the same schedule set the comparison for a veteran who reaches neither. H-1, for an owner under 65 who is not disabled, is $4,000 of assessed value for state purposes and $2,000 for county. H-2 is the state exemption plus $5,000 of assessed value for county. H-4, for age 65 with income over $12,000 on the Alabama return, is the state exemption plus $2,000 for county.
The first sentence worth acting on is about renewal, and it is precise in a way that summaries get wrong in both directions. Section 40-9-21.1 provides that a person who qualifies under section 40-9-19(a)(2) or (d) or under section 40-9-21 is not required to annually CLAIM the exemption after the initial qualification, but shall VERIFY eligibility each year thereafter, in person or by mail on a form affidavit provided by the tax assessing official. So it is not an annual re-application and it is not a grant that needs nothing further. It is an annual verification, and the tax assessing official may also run that verification electronically. A page saying Alabama requires no annual step is wrong, and so is a page saying the exemption has to be refiled.
The second is about vehicles. Disabled veterans are not required to obtain the disabled veteran distinctive license plate in order to claim the registration fee exemption. A veteran who does not want the plate still gets the fee relief. The first plate of a service connected disabled Alabama resident veteran is exempt from registration fees and plate issuance fees at both published tiers, 10 to 50 percent and 51 percent or higher. Ad valorem taxes on the vehicle are not exempt. At 51 percent or higher, or where special mechanical controls are fitted, subsequent plates carry a $5 annual fee, and where the vehicle was funded by VA all fees and taxes are exempt.
One further provision belongs on this page because it applies at exactly the moment somebody stops thinking about property tax. A homestead exemption under section 40-9-19 or section 40-9-21 is not affected during any period the homestead is being repaired after being damaged by a natural disaster such as a tornado or hurricane.
The dependents' scholarship is the largest recurring figure here and it is measured in semesters rather than dollars. Tuition is covered up to $400 per credit hour, with textbooks and applicable fees capped at a combined $1,000 per student per year, and other scholarships and grants apply first. Children and stepchildren receive 10 semesters. A spouse or unmarried widow or widower of a veteran rated 100 percent receives 10 semesters; of a veteran rated 40 to 90 percent, 6 semesters. The rating threshold is 40 percent, which is lower than most state dependent programs.
Two items cost nothing and are easy to overlook. Alabama lists military retirement pay, and disability retirement payments and other benefits paid by the Veterans Administration, among income exempt from Alabama income taxation. And the state park program gives free day use admission to veterans of all branches with no rating threshold at all, plus 15 percent off lodging at cabins, campgrounds and lodges.
What could not be confirmed, printed rather than left out
Three things belong on this page and are not stated as facts, because a gap that is named can be closed with one phone call and a gap that is silently omitted reads like a rule that does not exist.
The homestead filing deadline, and whether the annual verification runs on the same date. The Department of Revenue's homestead page states no date and no Alabama government source read in this check states one. Section 40-9-21.1 sets the manner of the claim and of the verification, not the calendar. The county revenue commissioner or tax assessor holds it, and the Department directs claimants to the county office rather than to the state.
Whether any Alabama county publishes an application route for the section 40-9-20 exemption, and what the county's own paperwork calls it. The section itself is not in doubt: it was read in the 2025 Code of Alabama and the state veterans department sets it out in its own guide to Alabama laws affecting veterans, glossing Public Law 702 as the specially adapted housing grant and rendering the survivor clause as the veteran or his or her unremarried widow or widower. What no source states is the form. It is not on the Department of Revenue's homestead class schedule, which is the page most county offices and most summaries work from. The county revenue commissioner is the office to ask, with the section number and the specially adapted housing grant documentation in hand.
The Alabama hunting and fishing license fee schedule, and any veteran waiver in it. Alabama's conservation department publishes its fee tables on a domain that is not a government one, so no fee figure and no waiver is stated here in either direction.
Every Alabama entitlement checked so far
Each entry states the rule as the statute or the administering agency states it, with the rating threshold that rule uses. Whether any particular file meets a threshold is a question for the office that grants it.
The state's own page
Everything below is a reading of published Alabama rules. Alabama Department of Revenue is the office that administers them, and its own page is the place to check anything here.
https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/property-tax/homestead-exemptions/
What we could not confirm
These are printed rather than left out. A gap that is stated can be closed with one phone call. A gap that is silently omitted reads like a rule that does not exist.
The homestead filing deadline, and whether the annual verification runs on the same date.
The Department of Revenue's homestead page states no date, and no Alabama government source read in this check states one. Section 40-9-21.1 sets the manner of the claim and of the verification, not the calendar. The county revenue commissioner or tax assessor where the property is. The Department directs claimants to the county office rather than to the state.
Whether any Alabama county publishes an application route for the section 40-9-20 exemption, and what its paperwork calls it.
The section itself is not in doubt. What no source states is the form. It is not on the Department of Revenue's homestead class schedule, which is the page most county offices and most published summaries work from, and that is the likeliest reason a counter has not heard of it. The county revenue commissioner, with the section number and the specially adapted housing grant documentation in hand.
The Alabama hunting and fishing license fee schedule, and any veteran waiver in it.
Alabama's conservation department publishes its fee tables on a domain that is not a government one, so no fee figure and no waiver is stated here in either direction. The Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources directly.
Property tax
Exemption for a home acquired with a specially adapted housing grant
Has to be applied for onceAla. Code 40-9-20 exempts from all ad valorem taxation, regardless of its value, the home of a veteran acquired under Public Law 702 of the 80th Congress, the specially adapted housing grant, for as long as it is owned and occupied as a home by the veteran or an unremarried widow.
- THE TRIGGER IS HOW THE HOME WAS ACQUIRED, NOT THE RATING. A veteran who bought a house without a specially adapted housing grant does not reach this section, whatever their rating, and goes through the general disability homestead class instead.
- There is no value ceiling. The statute says regardless of its value.
- The section states no acreage limit of its own. The 160 acre cap in this area sits in the general homestead sections rather than in this one.
- The statute's own wording is gendered, exempting the home while owned and occupied by the veteran or his unremarried widow. The state veterans department renders it in current practice as the veteran or his or her unremarried widow or widower.
- Enacted in 1957 and not amended since.
- What it is worth
- The whole ad valorem bill, at any value The exemption is expressly regardless of value, so unlike a capped exemption it does not stop growing with the house. Its reach is limited by who qualifies rather than by how much it is worth.
- Administered by
- The county revenue commissioner or tax assessor
- How it is claimed
- At the county office where the property is, with the documentation showing the home was acquired under the specially adapted housing grant.
- Rule
- Ala. Code 40-9-20
Alabama laws affecting veterans (Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs). Checked 2026-08-21.
Homestead exemption, class H-3
Has to be applied for onceAlabama's homestead exemption schedule places a person who is permanently and totally disabled, regardless of age, in class H-3, which the Department of Revenue records as exempt from all ad valorem taxes.
- The property must be a single family, owner occupied primary residence of not more than 160 acres.
- The federal taxable income test of $12,000 attaches to the age 65 branch of the schedule, not to the permanent and total disability branch.
- The other classes on the same schedule are H-1 for an owner under 65 who is not disabled, H-2 for age 65 or permanent and total disability, and H-4 for age 65 with income over $12,000.
- A person drawing a pension or annuity from the armed services as being permanently and totally disabled is automatically granted a certificate of permanent and total disability, so a veteran does not have to establish the determination from scratch.
- The class letters are how counties administer the schedule. The Department of Revenue describes the classes by eligibility and caps without mapping each letter to a section, so the statutes are cited here and the letter is described as the class counties use.
- The filing deadline is not stated on the Department of Revenue page and was not confirmed from a government source in this check, so it is not stated here. The county office holds it.
- What it is worth
- The whole ad valorem bill on the homestead Class H-3 is recorded as exempt from all ad valorem taxes, state and county, so the worth is the entire bill on up to 160 acres of owner occupied primary residence.
- Administered by
- The county revenue commissioner or tax assessor
- How it is claimed
- At the county office where the property is. The Department of Revenue directs claimants to the local county office rather than to the state.
- Rule
- Ala. Code 40-9-19(a)(2) and 40-9-21, with the automatic certificate at 40-9-19(a)(3) and 40-9-21(b), as amended by Act 2013-295
Homestead exemptions (Alabama Department of Revenue). Checked 2026-08-21.
Vehicles and plates
Registration and plate fee exemption
Has to be applied for onceAlabama exempts the first plate of a service connected disabled Alabama resident veteran from registration fees and license plate issuance fees. Ad valorem taxes on the vehicle are not exempt.
- The Department of Revenue sets out two tiers, 10 to 50 percent and 51 percent or higher.
- At 51 percent or higher, or where special mechanical controls are fitted, subsequent plates carry a $5 annual fee.
- Where the vehicle was funded by VA, all fees and taxes are exempt.
- The distinctive disabled veteran plate is not required in order to claim the registration fee exemption. That is stated on the agency page and it is the sentence most often missed.
- Administered by
- Alabama Department of Revenue, through the county licensing official
- How it is claimed
- At the county licensing office with the VA documentation.
- Rule
- Code of Alabama 40-12-244, 40-12-254, 32-6-130, 32-6-250.1 and 32-6-231.1
Disabled veteran license plates (Alabama Department of Revenue). Checked 2026-08-21.
Licenses and parks
Parks for Patriots
Applies without a filingAlabama provides free admission to participating state park day use areas for veterans and active duty military of all branches, with a 15 percent discount on lodging at state park cabins, campgrounds and lodges.
- There is no rating threshold. The benefit runs on veteran status rather than on a disability rating.
- Administered by
- Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
- How it is claimed
- At the park, with proof of service.
Free state park access and outdoor benefits for veterans and military families (Office of the Governor of Alabama). Checked 2026-08-21.
Education
Alabama G.I. Dependents' Scholarship Program
Has to be applied for onceAlabama provides a scholarship for dependents of veterans rated 40 percent or more from service connected disabilities, and for dependents of veterans who were prisoners of war, missing in action, or who died from a service connected cause or on active duty.
- Coverage is tuition up to $400 per credit hour, with textbooks and applicable fees capped at a combined $1,000 per student per year. Other scholarships and grants apply first.
- Children and stepchildren receive 10 semesters. A spouse or unmarried widow or widower of a veteran rated 100 percent receives 10 semesters; of a veteran rated 40 to 90 percent, 6 semesters.
- Residency conditions attach to the veteran as well as the dependent, and they are specific enough to be worth reading on the agency page before applying.
- What it is worth
- Up to $400 per credit hour, plus up to $1,000 a year for books and fees The entitlement is measured in semesters rather than dollars, so the total worth depends on the program length: 10 semesters at a full course load is a materially larger figure than the per credit hour cap suggests on its own.
- Administered by
- Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs
- How it is claimed
- Application to the Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs.
- Rule
- Code of Alabama 1975, section 31-6-1
Alabama G.I. Dependents' Scholarship Program (Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs). Checked 2026-08-21.
State income tax
Exempt income
Applies without a filingAlabama lists military retirement pay, and disability retirement payments and other benefits paid by the Veterans Administration, among income exempt from Alabama income taxation.
- Combat zone compensation and military quarters, subsistence, uniform and travel allowances are on the same exempt list.
- Administered by
- Alabama Department of Revenue
- How it is claimed
- Applied on the state return.
Income exempt from Alabama income taxation (Alabama Department of Revenue). Checked 2026-08-21.
Filter this by rating band
The finder takes a rating band and lists only the Alabama entitlements whose published threshold that band reaches, with a version laid out for printing and carrying to a county office.
Questions
Does Alabama have a disabled veteran property tax exemption?
Yes. Code of Alabama section 40-9-20, Certain Homes Owned by Veterans or Their Widows, exempts the home of a veteran acquired under Public Law 702 of the 80th Congress, the specially adapted housing program, from all ad valorem taxation regardless of its value, and continues it for an unremarried widow. It is narrow, because it turns on how the home was acquired rather than on the rating. A veteran outside it who is permanently and totally disabled reaches a full exemption under section 40-9-21 instead.
Is there an income limit on the Alabama exemption?
Not on the permanent and total disability branch of section 40-9-21, and not in section 40-9-20 at all. The $12,000 net annual taxable income condition attaches to the age 65 branch of the schedule.
Does the Alabama exemption have to be refiled every year?
Not claimed again, but verified. Section 40-9-21.1 provides that after the initial qualification a claimant is not required to annually claim the exemption but shall verify eligibility each year thereafter, in person or by mail on a form affidavit provided by the tax assessing official, who may also accept it electronically.
Do I need the disabled veteran plate to get the registration fee exemption?
No. The Department of Revenue states that disabled veterans are not required to obtain the distinctive plate in order to claim the registration fee exemption.
What rating does the Alabama dependents' scholarship require?
40 percent or more from service connected disabilities, or prisoner of war, missing in action, service connected death, or active duty death. Entitlement length varies by the relationship and by the rating band.
Sources
- Homestead exemptions, retrieved 2026-08-21 (Alabama Department of Revenue)
- Disabled veteran license plates, retrieved 2026-08-21 (Alabama Department of Revenue)
- Income exempt from Alabama income taxation, retrieved 2026-08-21 (Alabama Department of Revenue)
- Alabama G.I. Dependents' Scholarship Program, retrieved 2026-08-21 (Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs)
- Alabama laws affecting veterans, setting out the section 40-9-20 exemption, retrieved 2026-08-21 (Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs)
- Specially adapted housing grants, for the federal program section 40-9-20 refers to, retrieved 2026-08-21 (U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs)
- Free state park access and outdoor benefits for veterans, retrieved 2026-08-21 (Office of the Governor of Alabama)
Accuracy owner Brayden Marley. State entitlement thresholds move on state fiscal calendars, so this page is re-read against its sources every quarter and the date beside each line is the date that line was last read.